HCG – Pumpkin soup, pizza dough bread

In my hospitality and catering class my group and I put together a nice warm pumpkin soup with a side of pizza dough bread.   It was a very easy recipe to assemble with the help of many hands working together to create a nice dish of pumpkin soup.  We had already made the pizza dough bread multiple times so we already had the knowledge on how to make it off by heart.

The recipe we used to make the pumpkin soup is:

1 C peeled,diced pumpkin, ½ C peeled, diced carrot, ¼ onion, finely diced, Peeled, grated ginger – to taste (1tsp), Crushed garlic – to taste (1tsp), Curry powder – to taste (1tsp), 3 C water

Roast pumpkin, carrot and onion until tender and golden.

Put in a pan with ginger, garlic and curry powder and saute until it becomes fragrant.

Add water and simmer until vegetables are beginning to break down.

Taste and correct flavour to your liking.

Blend soup and pass through a sieve, squeeze as much through as possible or your soup will be thin.

Serve in a bowl garnished with a drizzle of coconut cream, and a sprinkle of fried shallots.

 

For the pizza dough bread its basically the same as making your normal fry bread or takakau recipe.

By combining yeast, warm water, sugar letting that sit in a bowl in a warm place till it starts to foam up.  We then would add about 2 cups of flour and need it in with the foamy like yeast mixture and let that rise in a warm place for an hour till doubled in size.

One the dough has risen in size we would then place our dough into an oven tray and spread it out, poking holes into the dough and covering it in oil and a bit of sea salt,  we were also being extra and added some garlic and herbs to add a bit more flavour to our pizza dough bread.

I normally don’t like pumpkin soup but the recipe we used I really enjoyed it more than I thought I would. I’ve had pizza dough bread multiple times and I think it gets better and better every time my group and I make it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *